Colorado Tax Changes for 2024 - Hackstaff, Snow, Atkinson & Griess, LLC

Colorado Tax Changes for 2024

Colorado tax law changes 2024 While 2024 did not usher in many state tax law changes, there are a couple of items that Coloradans should pay attention to.

One-Time TABOR Refund

During a special session in November 2023, HB23B-1002 was approved to increase the earned income tax credit for the 2023 tax year. In essence, the act creates a one-time Taxpayer’s Bill of Rights (TABOR) Amendment refund for excess state revenues for the 2022-23 state fiscal year, which will be refunded in the 2023-24 fiscal year. 

For one year only, qualifying individuals can receive a $800 refund ($1,600 for two qualifying individuals filing jointly). Certain factors affect your filing deadline. If you were at least 18 years old when the tax season began, do not have a Colorado income tax liability, are not claiming a refund of wage withholding, and are not otherwise required to file a Colorado return because you are not filing federal taxes, you must file by April 15 to claim the refund. If you do have a Colorado income tax liability, claim a refund of wage withholding, and are required to file a Colorado return because you are filing federally, you must file by October 15th to claim the refund.

Taxable Wage Base Increase

Colorado Senate Bill 20-207 passed in 2022 as an effort to progressively improve the state unemployment insurance program through a multi-year plan to increase the taxable wage base incrementally through 2026. By phasing the increases over several years, employers would have time to proactively plan and prepare for each increase.

The increase schedule is as follows:

  • 2021: $13,600
  • 2022: $17,000
  • 2023: $20,400
  • 2024: $23,800
  • 2025: $27,200
  • 2026: $30,600 (final figure is subject to adjustments for fluctuations in the annual average weekly wage.)

For 2023, the taxable wage base of $20,400 means that employers are required to pay unemployment insurance taxes only on the first $20,400 earned by each employee during the year.

501(c)(3) organizations have a unique circumstance in this law, in that they may choose to reimburse the state for any actual unemployment insurance claims filed by former employees, thus easing cash flow concerns. However, nonprofit employers had to notify the state by December 1 of their decision to reimburse rather than pay the taxes.

Navigating tax laws can be tricky and complex, and the tax attorneys at Hackstaff, Snow, Atkinson & Griess have the knowledge and expertise to ensure you and your business are on the right track. Contact us today for a free consultation.